Board of Directors


Elizabeth Gales, President
Elizabeth holds a Master of Historic Preservation degree from the University of Georgia and is an architectural historian at Hess, Roise, and Company in Minneapolis.  She has over ten years of professional experience in the historic preservation field and has presented at the Minnesota State Historic Preservation Conference on the preservation of Modern properties. Elizabeth is a past president of the Minnesota Chapter of DOCOMOMO US – the international working party for the documentation and conservation of buildings, sites, and neighborhoods of the modern movement. She has also served on the board of the Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians.

Doug Mack, Vice President
Doug is a freelance writer and also works at MacDonald & Mack Architects, a Minneapolis firm specializing in historic preservation projects. He is the author of Europe on Five Wrong Turns a Day, a travel memoir, as well as many articles and essays about travel, design, and other topics, for a wide range of local and national publications. In his spare time, Doug can usually be found running or biking along the lakes.

Kelly Mastin, Secretary
Kelly is a registered architect who works at Miller Dunwiddie Architecture, primarily on historic preservation projects.  She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and Masters of Architecture degree from the University of Minnesota.  She discovered her passion for historic preservation through work, where she has had the good fortune to work on a variety of preservation ventures, including multiple projects at the Basilica of Saint Mary and the Upper Post of Fort Snelling.

Phillip Koski, Treasurer
Phillip Koski, AIA, is a registered architect and founder of Koski Architecture. His portfolio of design work includes local landmarks and urban places, including the restoration of the Pantages Theater, the Hennepin Theater District Streetscape, and an addition to the historic Hennepin Avenue United Methodist Church. As a preservation and design advocate, he has served on the Minneapolis HPC from 2001-2008 (the last three years as Chair), has represented his south Minneapolis neighborhood, Corcoran, on several public works projects and is currently it’s Land Use Committee Chair.  In 2011 Phillip was the President of the Minneapolis chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and is a regular contributor to Architecture Minnesota and Metro magazines.

Michael Bleakmore
Mike Bleakmore is a self-avowed building geek and student of the architecture and history of the Twin Cities. His professional experience includes product marketing at companies such as Microsoft, IBM, Cognos, and Fair Isaac. Mike has launched dozens of new products, and brought technology solutions to businesses worldwide. He holds a BA and MBA from the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota.

Edna Brazaitis

Jennifer Dens
Jennifer currently works as a project manager for the US General Services Administration and moonlights at Sensors Incorporated doing their website and marketing. She graduated with a degree in architecture from the University of Minnesota, where she was also involved in the Marching Band and did lighting for the theater. In her free time, Jennifer enjoys exploring the bike trails of the Twin Cities, skiing and snowshoeing in the winter, cooking, knitting socks, and traveling.

Katie Haun
Katie is cultural resources specialist with Mead & Hunt, where she specializes in historic bridge and road evaluation and rehabilitation, community survey, and Section 106 compliance.  Katie holds a Master of Historic Preservation from Ball State University and is the author of The History Park Inn Hotel and City National Bank, a history of the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed hotel and bank in Mason City, Iowa, for Wright on the Park, Inc.   On any given day you might find Katie wandering through your neighborhood, admiring the city’s vernacular architecture.

Chuck Liddy
Charles is a Principal with Miller Dunwiddie Architecture with nearly 40 years of experience. His extensive background in historical work has resulted in numerous preservation project awards from AIA Minneapolis, the Minneapolis and St. Paul Heritage Preservation Commissions, and the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota. His career in preservation has been recognized by his receiving the AIA Minneapolis/Heritage Preservation Commission Steve Murray Award, the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Career Achievement Award, and being inducted into the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects.

In addition to serving on the Board of Preserve Minneapolis, Chuck is currently a member of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota and the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Previously he was Chair of the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission, on the Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Board and the State Review Board of the Minnesota Historical Society, President of AIA Minneapolis, and co-Chair of the AIA Minneapolis Urban Design Committee. Chuck often distinguishes himself as a preservation architect by wearing the ubiquitous bowtie!


John Stark
John is a registered architect and LEED Accredited Professional in Building Design and Construction.  He has a passion for preservation and sustainability.  His career includes a large number of historic projects.  John generously volunteers his time and is currently 2012 President of AIA Minneapolis, past chairman of the AIA Minnesota Historic Resources Committee and past chairman of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota Advocacy Committee.  In addition to the awards his projects have received John has been published in The Minnesota Preservationist and won the 2010 Steve Murray Award from the City of Minneapolis Historic Preservation Commission.

Peter Sussman